Hollis Morgan has come a long way since serving time for her ex-husband’s white-collar crimes. After receiving a state pardon, she is now a probate attorney at the Bay Area firm where she began as a paralegal. In a case close to home, her manager, George Ravel, inherits a fortune from his newly found birth mother, but her dead husband’s heirs are overcome with greed, not grief. They are determined to discredit her will.

George asks Hollis to handle the case, but her attention is divided. A dead woman has been discovered with Hollis’s business card. The woman possessed a list that could end the careers and lives of several public officials and prominent businessmen. Copies of list exist, and someone believes Hollis has one of them and they will go to any extreme to obtain it.

To protect her friends and stay alive, Hollis turns to her ex-con buddies from the Fallen Angels Book Club. In this case, there are too many people, on both sides of the law, who have an interest in seeing her stopped..

The Trade List is Book 4 of the Hollis Morgan Mysteries, which began with The Fallen Angels Book Club. It will be published in June, 2016. Pre-order now from Amazon or Barnes & Noble.



On May 1, 2015, Camel Press released The Return of the Fallen Angels Book Club, a mystery/suspense novel by R. Franklin James about a young attorney and her book club of white-collar ex-cons who band together to solve the murder of their former parole officer.

The Return of the Fallen Angels Book Club is the third mystery in the Hollis Morgan Mystery series, which began with The Fallen Angels Book Club and continued with Sticks & Stones.

Hollis Morgan is a survivor. She married young to flee an unloving family and ended up in prison, paying the price for her charming husband’s crime. After finally obtaining a California judicial pardon, Hollis has climbed the ladder from paralegal to probate attorney. But then there is the murder of her former parole officer, Jeffrey Wallace. Without Jeffrey, Hollis’ successful reentry into society would never have been possible. It was he who brought the Fallen Angels Book Club together. Now, realizing their debt to Jeffrey, they come together once more, determined to uncover the truth.

Although Hollis has met a great guy she is afraid to trust again. He doesn’t want to see her put her life in danger, but he also knows she won’t stop until Jeffrey’s murderer is discovered. Hollis finds that probate law can bring out the worst in people and sometimes expose a killer.

The Return of the Fallen Angels Book Club is available on and on



R. Franklin James’ STICKS AND STONES, is the second novel in the Hollis Morgan Mystery series, in which a San Francisco Bay Area paralegal persists with pursuing her goal to be an attorney after being pardoned as an ex-felon, but while waiting for her scores from the bar exam, her good friend seeks her help in a libel suit, however, before they can work together, her friend is murdered to ensure the story dies with her. Hollis is determined find her killer. Even as she stays one step ahead of the murderer, she is working on another job assignment when she discovers a box of eighty year old letters that tell a tragic story of greed, betrayal and revenge and it is then she realizes that words can cut deeper than any stick or stone.



The Fallen Angels Book Club has only two requirements: the members must love books and have a white collar criminal record. Hollis Morgan fits the bill on both counts. Left holding the bag in an insurance fraud scheme concocted by her now ex-husband, she served her time and now is trying to rebuild her life. All she wants is for the court to pardon her conviction so she can return to law school.

After one of her fellow members is murdered in a scenario straight out of a club selection, Hollis is once again the subject of police scrutiny. Refusing to get stuck with another bad rap, she sets out to investigate her fellow club members. Is one of them really blackmailing the others? As a second member dies in yet another book-inspired murder, Hollis realizes that time is running out. Everything rides on her finding the killer—not just her career aspirations. She must identity the killer before she herself becomes the next victim.

The Fallen Angels Book Club is the first book in an exciting new mystery series featuring amateur sleuth Hollis Morgan.

My book in the front window of the
Alexander Book Company - Market Street, San Francisco



Coming in June

The Trade List Cover
Pre-order Now

Now on Sale !


Sticks & Stones by R. Franklin James

The Fallen Angels Book Club by R. Franklin James

An ambitious paralegal’s membership in a book club of white-collar ex-felons threatens her chances to clear her name when murder and betrayal become part of her real life next chapter.